The Ancient Benins In Diaspora
Bookmark and Share
Last Update (July 5, 2021)

The Akoko-Edo was formally classified with those referred to as Ivbiesakon which came under the general terminology Kukuruku. The Akoko-Edo comprises the following groups:

(a) Atte Group: - The group comprising the clan is Atte.

(b) Akoko- Edo Central Group: - This group forms a clan comprising the following towns/villages: Aiyegunle, lgboola Sale, Igboola Oke, and Ogugun.

(c) Akoko-Edo East Group:- This group forms a clan made up of Somorika, Onumu, Ogbe, Anygaoza and Eshawa.

(d) Akoko-Edo North Group: - The group forms a clan comprising Ibilo, Ekpesa, Ikiran-Ile, Ikiran-Oke, and Ekor.

(e) Akoko- Edo North-East Group: - The group is otherwise known as a clan comprises the following towns/villages: Lampese, Imoga, Ekpe and Bekunia.

(f) Ikpesi/Egbigele Group: The composition of the area as a clan is as follows: lkpesi and Egbigele.

(g) Enwan Group: The group forms a clan comprising Enwan Imiavane.

(h) Igarra Akuku Group:- The group forms a clan comprising ¬°garra, Akuku and Igbikutu.

(i) Imeri Group:- The group forming a clan is made up of Imeri.

(j) Kakumo-Anyanran Group: - The group forms a clan comprising Kakumo, Aiyekoba, and Anyanran.

(k) Okpe-Oloma Group: - The group is a clan comprising Okpe, Jaja and Oloma.

(i) Okuloso Group: - The group forms a clan comprising Ojirami Oke, Makeke, Dagbala and Oja Sale.

(m) Ososo Group: - Ososo forms a clan of its own.

(n) Uneme Central Group: - The group is a clan comprising Erhurun Uneme, Uneme OSU, and Ekpedo Imiara,

(o) Uneme North Group: - The group is a clan constituting Uneme-Nekhua and Akpama.

Participant and relations ready for Itakpo dance

The whole of Akoko-Edo is an agglomeration of people from Benin (in the South), Idah (in the East), lgbirra (in the North) and Yoruba (in (he West). It is said that the earliest settlers were the Benins who would have been there the same period (he Etsako people moved from Benin during the reign of Oba Ozolua (1483-1504). Other migrating people, due to the fortunes of time, came into the area. Thus, the spill-over of the Ekiti people known as Ado-Ekiti who by the way, are Edo people, who had settled at Ekiti found their way back into this area from the West. As a matter of fact, Ado-Ekiti and the whole of Ondo State was a part of the old Benin Empire. It is little wonder that part of Akoko-Edo still forms a part of the Ekiti area of Ondo State today. Of the Igbirra and Idah from the North and East, the war which Oba Esigie fought in 1515-1516 with the Attah of ldah would have brought a lot of migration into the area. The Ososo people are believed to be the descendants of the Benin garrison which fought the Idah war. This fact accounts for their persistent rejection of Igalla as their place of origin. Later in the current century, the general incursion of the Nupe into the area has in the main added more to mass movement of people into the area. Today, one can only say that the area is an admixture of ethnic groups from Benin, Igbirra and Idah who live together in scattered, heterogeneous towns and villages some of which really remain strangers to themselves. It is not uncommon for two adjourning villages to speak different languages and maintain two different cultures as far apart as Ibo from Yoruba and yet they manage to get on together, first, under the Benin Imperial powers and later, under the Colonial British powers now inherited by the National Government of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Akoko Edo Clans Heads

1. The Olokpe of Okpe

2. The Olososo of Ososo

3. The Emah III of Somorika

4. The Onimeri of Imeri

5. The Senior Village Head of Atte

6. The Senior Village Head of North Ineme (The Ojeh of of Uneme-Nekhue)

7. The Senior Village Head North East Akoko (Otaru of Ekpe)

8. The Senior Village Head of Okuloso (the Odarume of Degbale)

9. The Senior Village Head of Central Uneme (the Ojenokhun of Ekpedo)

10. The Senior Village Head of North Akoko

11. The Senior Village Head of Central Akoko (The Oyah of Aiyegunle)

12. The Senior Village Head of Kakumo Anyanran.

13. The Senior Village Head of Enwan

14. The Senior Village Head of Ekpeshi Egbigele.. (The Oba of Ekpeshi)

15. The Otaru of Igarra (The Senior Village Head of Igarra)

Comment Box is loading comments...
Benin kingdom copy right